Board of Directors

Meet the Directors and Associates that govern and set the strategy for AWCC Ltd on behalf of its supporters and membership divisions.
Home About AWCC Board of Directors

Ivan Brewer

– Governing Committee (Chair)
– ETPA Shift, Time and Attendance Technology Committee (Chair)
– Modern Awards Joint Advisory Committee

Ivan is the Managing Director and Founder of Peiso Pty Ltd. Ivan has over 30 years’ experience in the Restaurant industry, including Company restructuring, profitability improvements and business optimisation. All of which lead to Ivan founding and developing a Software Company (Peiso) which simplifies the complex nature of hospitality operations. 

Ivan is the Chair of the Employment Technology Providers Australia (ETPA) Shift, Time and Attendance Committee whose purpose is to provide specialist advice and recommended advocacy, policy and related positions via AWCC to Government.

Master of Business Administration (candidate)

Damien Gooden
Deputy President

– Governing Committee (Deputy Chair)
– ETPA Workforce Management Technology Committee (Chair)

Damien has been the Chief Executive Officer of HR Central Pty Ltd since 2014, prior to which Damien has held several senior positions including COO and CTO. Damien has over 20 years’ experience developing and managing software and is now the head of one of Australia’s leading providers of Industrial Relations software.

Damien is the Chair of the Employment Technology Providers Australia (EPTA) Workforce Management Technology Committee whose purpose is to provide specialist advice and recommended advocacy, policy and related positions via AWCC to Government.

- Bachelor of Information Technology (Honours)

Ciaran Strachan
Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer

– Governing Committee (MD)
– ETPA Management Committee (Invited attendee)
– PPA Management Committee (Invited attendee)

Ciaran is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Workforce Compliance Council Ltd. Prior to which Ciaran had over 25 years’ experience in Personnel Administration, Payroll and restructuring medium to large entities to be compliant with Australia’s Workplace Relations Federal Framework. Ciaran’s experience includes small business Employment Technology and large ERPs (Enterprise Resource Planning Systems) such as SAP and Oracle with Federal Departments including Defence. Ciaran also has extensive experience with Fraud Control and Operational Industrial Relations including Workplace Investigations and Conciliation with the Fair Work Commission.

Ciaran is a founding member of the Journal of Industrial Relations Practitioner Advisory Committee (launches in 2024), where members of the committee provide input and guidance for the JIR editorial team relating to IR developments, practices and legal regulatory issues of relevance for the field and the journal.

Ciaran works closely with the Board to develop and set in motion AWCCs strategy. Ciaran also works with AWCCs member divisions on strategy, research and position papers on employment related National and State Policy.

- Master of Business Administration.
- Graduate Certificate Industrial Relations.
- Graduate Certificate Human Resource Management.
- Diplomas in Government, Financial Services and Fraud Control.
- Australian Institute of Company Directors (Member).

Deanne Windsor
Director & President Employment Technology Providers Australia

– Governing Committee
– ETPA Management Committee (Chair)
– Modern Awards Joint Advisory Committee

Deanne is a payroll professional and is registered with the ATO as a Digital Service Provider (DSP) for Single Touch Payroll (STP). Deanne worked with the ATO from 2015 to 2020 on the co-design of both phases of STP. Deanne has more than 30 years’ experience of payroll and over 20 years as an SAP payroll consultant. By working with the ATO and industry on co-designing STP, Deanne consulted with and represented DSPs at various engagements with the ATO, Treasury, at Parliament House for a Ministerial Roundtable on STP phase 2 and at the Senate Inquiry into the unlawful underpayment of superannuation guarantee. Advocacy to improve governance and guidance for payroll is her passion.


Jennifer McKennariey
Director and Company Secretary
Acting President of Payroll Professionals

– Governing Committee (Secretary)
– Audit Committee (Chair)
– Payroll Professionals Working Group
– Modern Awards Joint Advisory Committee (Co-Chair)

Jen is the Founder and CEO of Dynamic Capabilities Consulting, bringing over 20 years of experience in driving strategic initiatives and operational improvements across various sectors. Her career is marked by significant achievements in operations management, project management, business analysis, change management, and consulting. Jen's extensive experience includes leading comprehensive Fair Work compliance initiatives and framework development, as well as implementing technology solutions to address industry-specific challenges and risks, particularly in payroll and workforce management. 

A proactive leader in the modern awards review, Jen actively participated in consultation sessions with the Fair Work Commission, advocating for the simplification of modern awards to benefit practitioners, employers, employees, and technology providers. She has worked within PwC, experienced in managing large-scale change projects and compliance initiatives within Federal Government departments. As a founding member and the initial Board Secretary of the Australian Workforce Compliance Council (AWCC), she ensured robust board governance and compliance, driving the board's strategic vision. Jen now serves as an AWCC Director and the President of Certified Payroll Practitioners, the membership division of AWCC. 

Kath Attree
Independent Director

– Governing Committee (Independent)

Kath is a learning and teaching professional with 30 years’ experience working at senior level across a broad range of academic and professional portfolios.  Kath has strong specialist leadership skills in designing, developing, and implementing industry-aligned curriculum for online postgraduate business and MBA courses using collaborative stakeholder engagement and co-creation processes. She is now applying these skills to guide the development of a suite of professionally aligned postgraduate (AQF8) courses for the Australian Workforce Compliance Council in a volunteer capacity.

- Bachelors of Arts.
- Graduate Diploma Asian Studies.
- Graduate Diploma Arts (Indonesian).
- Master of Business Administration.
- Graduate Certificate University Leadership & Management.
- Graduate Certificate in Teaching & Learning in Higher Education.
- PHD (Cadidate).
- Advance HE (Senior Fellow).

James Baird
Company Treasurer

– Governing Committee (Treasurer)

James is the Treasurer of the Australian Workforce & Compliance Council. James is currently the finance manager of several international Fleet Space technologies subsidiaries a start-up organisation developing organisational compliance, processes, & enterprise-wide reporting systems. Prior to which James brings a wealth of experience from the fortune global 500 from areas of project management, finance management, and governance & administration.  

James works closely with all stakeholders to ensure AWCC has the means to achieve its strategic objectives and ramp up operations in a efficient, effective, and socially responsible manner. 

- Bachelor of Applied Finance.
- Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting).
- Certified Practicing Accountant.
- Advanced Diploma in Global Business Services.
- Master of Systems Engineering (Candidate).

- CPA Australia
- Australian Institute of Company Directors (Graduate).